News‎ > ‎

St Lachtains 1-16 Tullogher 0-11

posted 21 May 2012, 05:41 by Unknown user

Tullogher were beaten 1-16 to 0-11 by St Lachtains (Freshford) in Gowran on Saturday evening in the 3rd round of the Michael Lyng Intermediate League Championship on Saturday evening, May 19th. The scoreline does not do justice to the competiveness of the game. Wally Walsh opened the scoring with a point and then extended the lead with a terrific 2nd. Catching a puck out, holding off the defender and coolly slotting the ball over the blackspot from 60 yards out on the sideline. Soon afterwards the lively Padraig Ryan had to settle for a point when pulling 1st time on a breaking ball, with a bit of luck it could have been a goal. Points were traded from both sides to leave the half time score 0-07 apiece. Tullogher’s scores coming from a 2nd Padraig Ryan effort and 3 Liam Barron frees.

The 2nd half started as the 1st finished with each side trading points. However 10 minutes into the 2nd half Freshford started to enjoy a dominant spell and opened a 4 point lead thanks in the main to the accurate free taking of Eoin Guinan. Martin Roche pulled of his 2nd top drawer save of the game to deny St Lachtains extending the lead. Tullogher tried hard to reduce the lead in the last quarter but could not break the defense where Freshford’s ploy of dropping an extra man into the half back line to double team Wally Walsh reduced the available space. With the last puck of the game, Freshford scored a goal to win 1-16 to 0-11.

Best for Tullogher on the night were Martin Roche, Terence Croke, the trio in the half back, Wally Walsh and Padraig Ryan.


Next up in the League Championship are Young Irelands (Gowran) on Saturday July 14th.


Team: Martin Roche, Declan Grennan, John Hartley, Terence Croke, Moling Cotterell, Pat Hartley (0-01 free), John Grennan, John Cotterell (inj. Ian Power), John Murphy (Tony Conway), Anthony Cotterell (0-01), Liam Barron (0-04 4 frees) (Eoin Mullally), Walter Walsh (0-02), Padraig Ryan (0-03),, John Barron, James Mullally (0-01 free)..

Subs: Eoin Ryan, Tony Conway, Ian Power, Amby Malone, Eoin Mullally, Mark O’Brien, Kieran Barron, Bob Forristal, Billy Ryan, James Ryan