Home‎ > ‎

Schools' Scene

Roinn C Schools Champios 2010 / Tommy Murphy Country Cup winners 2010

Tedcastles Oils Roinn C Hurling Final 
Tullogher/Rosbercon 5-6 Conahy 3-3 

Tullogher/Rosbercon added the Tedcastles Oils Roinn C Hurling title to the Roinn B Football title won earlier this year by defeating a gallant Conahy team in Ballyhale. The southern side went into this game as strong favourites after an unbeaten run to the final but they were made work extremely hard by a determined Conahy side which battled all the way to the end. Conahy played with wind advantage in the first half but it was Tullogher who got off to the better start. Paul Manning pointed in the first minute. Conor Hennessy added another point from a ’65 in the fifth minute and Conahy were finding it difficult to keep them at bay. Within a minute they suffered a further blow when Paul Manning doubled on a free to finish to the net. Thomas O’ Connor added another point in the seventh minute and it was all Tullogher at this stage. Conahy showed real character however and slowly they got themselves back into the game. Edmond Delaney pointed a free in the tenth minute and within a minute James Bergin added another from play. Tullogher added an excellent point from Tadhg Cody but two minutes later a goal from James Bergin put Conahy right back in the game. Tullogher went on the attack again but struck four wides in a row to leave the half time score Tullogher/Rosbercon 1-4 Conahy 1-2. 

Tullogher began the second half with intent and within two minutes they added a goal. Paul Manning gathered the sliotar forty metres out and headed for the Conahy goal. He weaved his way in and struck a blistering shot to the net. It looked ominous for Conahy as Tullogher now had wind advantage. Conahy responded brilliantly however and within a minute they had the ball in the back of the Tullogher net thanks to Niamh Delaney. Conor Hennessy added an excellent point from a free in the sixth minute and Richard Hennessy added a goal a minute later. Tullogher were gradually getting on top and Daire McGrath scored a goal after good work by Paul Manning. Conahy still refused to surrender and immediately replied with a goal from James Bergin. Tullogher added a point from Conor Hennessy and Richard Hennessy struck for his second goal after a good run from Daire McGrath. Conahy to their credit never gave up trying and the final score of the game went to Edmond Delaney with a point from a ’65. In the end the title went south and there was no doubting the merit of Tullogher’s win. Conahy can however take a great deal of credit for their dogged resistance and the character they showed in their gallant performance will surely stand them in good stead in the future. 

Tullogher/Rosbercon: Padraig Walsh, Mark McGrath, Mark Forrestal, Aidan O’Neill, David Walsh, Conor Hennessy, Richard Gill, Daire McGrath, Tadhg Cody, Donagh O’Connor, Paul Manning, Niall O’Beirne, Richard Hennessy, Thomas O’ Connor, Jack Kennedy, Dylan Morrissey, Shane Lyng, John Forrestal, David O’Connor, Frank Murphy, Stephen Gahan, Brian Lynch, Richie Aylward, Thomas Johns, Terry Lawlor, Conor Brett, Frankie Power, Sean O’Neill. 

Conahy: John Byrne, Niall Walsh, Kieran Delaney, Pádraig Gunner, Roisín Phelan, Donal Cass, Justin Brophy, Edmond Delaney, Leon Butler, Niamh Delaney, James Bergin, Conor Watters, Keith Dunne, Bill Murphy, Sean Hennessy, Darragh Dooley, Laurence Feehan, Conor Blanche, Ethan Butler, Frank Gunner, Siobhán Mullen, Evelyn Phelan, Paul Healy, Tommy Hennessy, Vincent Brophy, Cian Harding, Ben Lawlor, Amy Morrissey, Daniel O’ Shea, Brendan Nolan. 

 Referee: Paschal Connolly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

[report courtesy of kilkennygaa.ie]